Tasmania has 29 local government areas. Yes, this is a lot… There is often talk about council mergers, and that comes and goes. Perhaps one day there will be less for a population of only around 500,000 people!

When you are planning to move to a new place, the website for the local government can be a good place to gather information about the region and facilities and services provided. The local governments also tend to operate their local tourist centres which can help with things to do in the area.

Finding a list of them, with links to websites is impossible it seems – so I have put this together for you, by region with links to their home pages.

Below is a map showing the location for each local government area in Tasmania. Download the map as a PDF.

Also, to find out where your favourite town sits, refer to the Locality by Postcode table which you can download here.

Both documents have been sourced from the Local Government Association Tasmania.

UPDATE (November 2014) – it seems that prior to the recent local government elections, the Local Government Association updated their website to provide a list of all local councils. This can be seen here.


Hobart and Southern Tasmania

Hobart City Council

Glenorchy City Council

Kingborough Council 

Huon Valley Council

Clarence City Council

Derwent Valley

Brighton Council

Sorell Council

Tasman Council

Glamorgan Spring Bay Council

Central Highlands Council

Southern Midlands Council


Launceston and Northern Tasmania

Launceston City Council

West Tamar Council

George Town Council 

Northern Midlands Council

Meander Valley Council

Dorset Council

Break O’Day Council 

Waratah Wynyard Council

Flinders Council


Devonport, the North West and West of Tasmania

Devonport Council

Latrobe Council

Kentish Council

Central Coast Council

Burnie City Council

Circular Head Council

West Coast Council

King Island Council


For more on each region of Tasmania you can search for blog posts from the menu under ‘Where to Live”. Also, see our information on the regions of Tasmania.




Photo credit: St Matthias Vineyard | Tourism Tasmania | Owen Hughes


Leave a Comment

You have to agree to the comment policy.

Scroll to Top